• Where to Fill Your Growler in Australia

    August 4, 2017 • EAT, GUIDES

    Where to fill your beer Growler in AustraliaCheers to a waste free beer with your refillable growler!

    Welcome to the next frontier of saving waste for those who love a craft beer, or increasingly popular fermented kombucha and cold brew coffee.

    Growlers allow you to carry home beer, kombucha, juice, cold brew and even wine from your favourite venue without it going flat or degrading in quality, and are typically made from glass, ceramic or stainless steel.  This reusable beer bottle, helps you to save packaging waste and emissions, save money, and support local craft producers. Let’s just say it’s like a keep cup for beer!

    We have three types of growlers available at Biome, including:

    Klean Kanteen Stainless Steel Growler

    klean-kanteen-64oz-19l-swing-lok-growler-dark-amber

    Available in amber (pictured) or brushed stainless steel. Swing lok stainless steel cap with silicone seal. 1.9L capacity.

    Shop Klean Kanteen growlers here >

    Robert Gordon Ceramic Growler

    robert-gordon-ceramic-growler-large

    Handmade in Australia. Classic vintage-style design. Has a plastic airtight seal with steel latch. Available in 550ml, 1.2L and 2.3L capacity.

    Shop Robert Gordon ceramic growlers here >

    Stanley Classic Vacuum Insulated Growler

    stanley-classic-19l-vacuum-ins-growler

    Naturally BPA free, won’t rust, vacuum insulated, heavy duty handle with a steel inner lid. 1.9L capacity.

    Shop the Stanley growler here >

    How is a growler good for the environment?

    However you use a growler, its reusability, durability and materials make it an awesome product for the environment. Win-win!

    By reusing your easy-to-clean and durable growler hundreds of times you will save the waste of the glass, aluminium and plastic that would have gone into making the bottles that would otherwise contain your drink.

    Further, buying straight from the place your beer was made means you will eliminate the greenhouse gas emissions that would have been caused by transporting heavy bottles of liquid all over the country and globe.

    At the end of its long useful life your stainless steel growler can also be recycled.  It’s better for your health and the environment right to the end.

    When will I use a growler?

    Not only is a growler good for transporting beer, it can also can hold juice, cold brew, organic wine or “booch” (slang for kombucha). It can even be used as a large, reusable water bottle.

    A growler can be used to transport your favourite drink on a hike, camping, bike rides, picnics, parties, and dinners without creating waste. It’s stylish and unusual, which will get it noticed so you can spread the message about reusing to everyone!

    And, did we mention that it can save you money?  By buying straight from the producer without any packaging, your beer is likely to cost less than the pre-bottled variety.

    Our growlers make a great Father’s Day gift, as it is a practical gift that he can use for years to come.

    Klean Kanteen’s stainless steel pint cups (pictured above) are a handy accessory to take on the go also.

    Where can I fill up my growler with craft beer?

    That is the main question: which venues in Australia will happily take my growler and fill it with delicious beery liquid?

    Below is a comprehensive list of craft beer venues in Australia that, presently, will fill your growler.

    Please let us know in the comments if you have any venues to add to the list and we will keep building on this.

    Brisbane

    Brewhouse Woolloongabba – brewhouse.com.au – 601 Stanley Street, Woolloongabba QLD 4102

    Brisbane Brewing Co. West End – brisbanebrewing.com.au – 124 Boundary Street, West End

    Newstead Brewing Co. – newsteadbrewing.com.au – 85 Doggett St, Newstead & 67 Castlemaine St, Milton QLD

    Brisbane German Club – brisbanegermanclub.com – 416 Vulture St, East Brisbane QLD 4169

    Archive Beer Boutique – www.archivebeerboutique.com.au – 100 Boundary Street, West End QLD 4101

    All Inn brewing Co – allinnbrewingco.com – 189 Elliot Road, Banyo QLD 4014

    Slipstream Brewing Company – slipstreambrewing.com.au – 2/94 Wilkie St, Yeerongpilly QLD 4105

    Hub Brewing Co. – hubbrewing.com.au – 20 Morrisby St, Geebung QLD 4034

    Green Beacon Brewing Co. – www.greenbeacon.com.au – 26 Helen St, Teneriffe QLD 4005

    Bacchus Brewing Co. – bacchusbrewing.com.au – 1/2 Christine Pl., Capalaba QLD 4157

    Adelaide

    Little Bang Brewing Co – www.littlebang.com.au – 8A Union Street, Stepney SA 5069

    Big Shed Brewing Co – www.bigshed.beer – 13/2 Brandwood St, Royal Park SA 5014

    Goodwood Cellars – www.goodwoodcellars.com – 125 Goodwood Rd, Goodwood SA 5034 (transparent Growlers only)

    Canberra

    Bentspoke Brewing Company – www.bentspokebrewing.com.au – Braddon Brew Pub, 38 Mort Street, Braddon, ACT (2L, stainless steel, wide mouth Growlers only)

    Hobart

    Fox Friday Craft Brewery  – www.foxfriday.com.au – U6/14a Main Road, Moonah TAS 7009

    Willie Smith’s Apple Shed – www.williesmiths.com.au – 2064 Huon Highway, Grove TAS 7109

    Crown Cellars – www.facebook.com/crowncellars – 152 Elizabeth St, Launceston TAS 7250

    Melbourne

    Slowbeer –  slowbeer.com.au – 468 Bridge Rd, Richmond VIC 3121

    Beermash – www.beermash.com.au – 306 Smith St, Collingwood VIC 3066

    The Valley Cellardoor – valleycellardoor.com.au – 18-20 Hall St, Moonee Ponds VIC 3039

    The Alehouse Project – thealehouseproject.com.au – 98-100 Lygon St, Brunswick East VIC 3057

    That Little Brewery – 24/12 Edina Rd, Ferntree Gully VIC 3156

    Tallboy and Moose – tallboyandmoose.com – 270 Raglan St, Preston VIC 3072

    Thunder Road Brewery – thunderroadbrewing.com – 130 Barkly St, Brunswick VIC 3056

    Perth

    Petition – petitionperth.com – State Buildings, Corner St Georges Tce & Barrack St, Perth WA 6000 (swing-top Growlers only)

    International Beer Shop – www.internationalbeershop.com.au – 256 Oxford Street, Leederville WA 6007 (transparent Growlers only)

    Liquor Barons Bullcreek – www.liquorbarons.com.au – Shop 8 / Parry Place Shopping Centre, 110 Parry Avenue, Bull Creek, WA, 6149

    Liquor Barons Marmion – www.liquorbarons.com.au – 16/19 Sheppard Way, Marmion WA 6056

    Mane Liquor – maneliquor.com.au – 237 Great Eastern Hwy, Belmont WA 6104

    Sydney

    FogHorn Brewhouse – www.foghornbrewhouse.com.au – 218 King Street, Newcastle NSW 2300

    Batch Brewing Company – www.batchbrewingco.com.au – 44 Sydenham Rd, Marrickville NSW 2204

    Rocks Brewing Co (clean growlers only) – www.rocksbrewing.com – Building 2, 160 Bourke Rd, Alexandria NSW 2015

    Bondi Cellars – www.facebook.com/Bondi-Beach-Cellars-153081538056716/ – 50 Hall St, Bondi Beach NSW 2026

    Wayward Brewing Co. – www.waywardbrewing.com.au – 1 Gehrig Lane, Camperdown NSW 2050

    Akasha Brewing Company – akashabrewing.com.au – 10A Spencer Street, Five Dock NSW 2046

    Newtown Growler Depot – 145-147 King St, Newtown NSW 2042

    Cutty Cellars – 342/346 Pacific Highway, Crows Nest NSW 2065

    4 Pines – 4pinesbeer.com.au – 4G/9-13 Winbourne Rd, Brookvale NSW 2100

    Regional – Outside of Capital Cities

    SunPalms Drive Through Bottleshop – sunpalms.com.au – 160 Gladstone Road, Rockhampton QLD 4700

    Burleigh Brewing Co. – burleighbrewing.com.au – 2 Ern Harley Dr, Burleigh Heads QLD 4220

    Hillbilly Cider Shed – www.hillbillycider.com.au – 2270 Bells Line of Rd, Bilpin NSW 2758

    Eden Brewery – edenbrewery.beer – 1/19 Cavendish St, Mittagong NSW 2575

    Eagle Bay Brewing Co – eaglebaybrewing.com.au – 236 Eagle Bay Rd, Naturaliste WA 6281

    The Pour House – pourhouse.com.au – 26 Dunn Bay Rd, Dunsborough WA 6281

    Thirsty Crow Brewery – thirstycrow.com.au – 153 Fitzmaurice St, Wagga Wagga NSW 2650

     

    Happy Father’s Day, Dad! And here’s to good beer with less waste.

    Shop our range of reusable growlers here >

    Image source: Klean Kanteen

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    3 Responses to Where to Fill Your Growler in Australia
    1. Jodie
      August 11, 2017 at 2:53 pm

      More for queensland
      Bacchus brewery
      Balistic brewing co
      Slipstream brewing

    2. AF
      August 11, 2017 at 9:22 pm
    3. Tom Howes
      August 13, 2017 at 11:53 am

      Green beacon in Brisbane. Champion AIBA and CBIA. They do growlers and squealers… in fact they were first place in QLD. Not a very comprehensive list above.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *